Zucchini, cheese, rosemary and polenta olive oil cake.

by Gypsy and the Botanist

IMG_9999a

It’s summer, so zucchini is in abundance. Zucchini works a dream in cakes. It carries other flavours beautifully, and it’s texture makes sure a cake is moist. But. It ain’t all about sweets. I had been thinking about how to best use zucchinis. While I love the sweet cakes I use it for, I couldn’t get the idea of zucchini and cheese out of my head. Cheese is one of my favourite ever foods, maybe I need to increase my intake? Anyway, I decided to make a savoury “cake”.  The polenta, combined with the zucchini, gives an amazing texture with the gooey cheese and the rich olive oil. And for an added surprise, I’ve added some chillies from my mama’s garden, and some sundried tomatoes.

 

Ingredients

3 zucchinis

150g cheddar cheese

100g provolone cheese

3 cloves of garlic, crushed and minced

2 long stems of rosemary

2 chillies

A handful of sundried tomatoes

1 tsp nutmeg

3 eggs

2 tbsp salt

100g unsalted butter, room temperature

50ml good quality olive oil

2tsp bicarbonate of soda

150g plain flour

100g polenta

IMG_9995a

 

Roughly grate the zucchinis, and cheeses. Then roughly chop the rosemary, chili, and sundried tomatoes.

In a mixer, beat the butter until soft and creamy. One a lower speed, add the eggs, one by one, until combined, followed by the olive oil and salt. Continuing on a low speed until combined, slowly add the zucchinis, cheese, garlic, rosemary, chilli, sundried tomatoes, and nutmeg. Add the bicarbonate of soda, followed by the sifted flour, and then the polenta. Beat on a low speed until combined.

Pour the mixture into a greased and lined tin. Decorate with some thinly slice tomatoes, and some sprigs of rosemary dipped in olive oil and sprinkled with salt.

Bake for approximately 30-40 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean. Leave to cool in the pan for 10-20 minutes, and then transfer onto a cooling rack to cool completely.

IMG_0017a

 

__

Facebook: www.facebook.com/gypsyandthebotanist

Instagram: gypsyandthebotanist 

 

